Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UT2004 - MakeShift Vehicles!!

So me and a friend of mine thought it would be fun to make a vehicle for UT2004. So two vehicles will be made total. The vehicles will have a makeshift theme (like mad max or waterworld).

So anyway, here's my concept art. I'm no artist, just trying to get my idea on paper. It's an airboat/hovercraft. There are three air generators that lift the innertube and a big fan the propells the vehicle forward. The seat will be a car seat. and the Boat is just an old fishing boat. Anyways, please critique the concept (not the art). Thanks!

zzz.jpg

Replies

• flaagan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    flaagan polycounter lvl 18
    About the only thing you'll have to worry about is having some form of steering setup in front of the driver seat. I'm pretty sure there's a way to script in a custom seating position, but you're much better off on a first go-around using the existing setup.

Another thing to keep in mind when you're doing the uv mapping is that Unreal really doesn't like having a model alphaing itself out (totally forgot the term for that) so things like that mesh behind the driver may need to be a separate object that's merged together when you rig the vehicle (I'm assuming you're basing your starting point off of those tutorial dvd's that came with the game?)

Best place to start after you've got it all modeled and rigged is to create a 'vehicle factory' (if I recall that being the correct game-terminology) for it based off the existing hovercraft and just call in your vehicle as a model. Also, just for testing out materials in-game you can always set up a test room with the vehicle in it just to walk around and compare it in scale to the player model and other vehicles.