Home Technical Talk

Focus on techinacl shit of game art for reel?

Sage
polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Sage polycounter lvl 19
I noticed Per128 comment on the thread that asked how to texture a race track, I here is my question... I graduated back in 2000 with my degree in Graphic Design, but I did my focus on 3D Animation and Game Design since I dislike Graphic Design as a profession. For the last seven years I have focused on the technical aspects of it and from reading the posts here and chatting with some of you it seems that I am wasting my time a bit trying to tailor my reel around these limitations. My question is should I show my non game art 3D skills. I know how to model environments for prerendered stuff, which may or may not work in a game engine but I have been limiting myself to what I know would work. Vertex lighting fun to use but my concern is how it's used for the game industry rather than making things look pretty in say Max or XSI.

Thoughts on what I should do to get hired full time in an established game company would be great. wink.gif I would love very much to make money doing this. Thanks.

Alex

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Well first rule of thumb is to simply make your stuff look awesome. If it doesn't impress, you're much less likely to be hired, regardless of tech skills. Unless you're going for a more technical job, like Technical Artist, then you'll need awesome tech skillz. smile.gif

2nd is to target your art to the job you want. Pre-rendered enviros are good to have if you're going for an enviro artist job... shows how you light a scene, how you arrange space, how you incorporate style, etc. Also shows all-around art skill (or lack thereof).