Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Post: Low Poly Heads (amongst others)

Hi guys, first time posting, big fan of the community,

Here's a few things I've been working on, been using autodesk 3DS now for about 6 months a few hours a week,at home and 3 hrs a week at a local college, thought I'd sit down and get to grips with some low poly models, The topolgy is off and the smoothing groups are a rush job, but every one I do (left/right = oldest/newest) gets better(slightly) and obviously faster, ('bout 2/3 hrs each, hair is a placeholder)
Heroes1.jpg
Heroes1wf.jpg
also got some ultra low poly things from a few weeks ago:
rpgdes.jpg
and I've just started getting into mudbox, unfortunately my laptop doesn't allow for many iterations smile.gifso heres a few sketches.
mubx.jpg

Replies

• Joseph Silverman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joseph Silverman polycounter lvl 17
    Excellent first post, welcome to polycount.

Considering the amount of polies you devoted to the lips, I think you definitely could have afforded a bit more detail to the noses on those heads, and maybe a bit more to the eyes.
  • Ramj
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yeah, I totally agree, like I said, I'm getting better and whilst doing the third model I found that I really *do* need all the loops around the mouth, didn't really carry it through the face though, and noses scare me laugh.gif, so my next project, a severe study of noses.
  • HonkyPunch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HonkyPunch polycounter lvl 18
    Very very nice. I really like the mudbox stuff.
  • ScoobyDoofus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ScoobyDoofus polycounter lvl 19
    I am probably just projecting my own fanaticism with the show, but I'd guess those 3 heads are from left to right:
    Peter Petrelli: Milo Ventimiglia
    Hiro Nakamura: Masi Oka
    Claire Bennett: Hayden Panetierre

The little low poly room interiors look great!