Home General Discussion

Im a Noob to Forums

Hi guys,
This is my first ever post on a forum and was introduced to Polycount through Jesse Moody and Don Ott. I heard that there are a lot of cool people on here and a great opportunity to get good crits on my work. I am about to finish school at A.I. San Diego and have a lot of schoolwork left to do so that I can get my grades and graduate so whatever crits I get from you please dont be offended if I dont implement them immediatley seeing as I have school projects. I'm looking to get into the industry as a 3D prop artist and make some new friends on polycount.
Let me know if you'll be at GDC and maybe I could pick your brain!
So if you have the time PLEASE go to my website and tell me what you honestly think I should do to eventually get a position as a prop artist in the game industry! Thanks guys. Later. Judd Roy website

Replies

• Grey
    Oh yeah, sorry forgot to mention that I dont have a demo reel up yet, sorry about that. Thanks.
  • gavku
    Offline / Send Message
    gavku polycounter lvl 18
    Welcome aboard dude....most people post website pimps over here:
    http://boards.polycount.net/postlist.php?Cat=0&Board=2
  • Lee3dee
    Offline / Send Message
    Lee3dee polycounter lvl 18
    welcome smile.gif pleased to meet you.

Looking at your website, it seems like alot of your normal maps were created used the nvidia filter (i could be wrong). I would demonstrate that you know how to model high and bake the normals to the low model. Also, your textures thumbnails are tiny, I would like to see them a bit bigger to see your texturing skills.
  • Grey
    Thanks alot Lee3dee. I will make those changes as soon as I am able. And you were right, I used the nvidia filter on some and crazybump on others. I will bake the higher onto a lower, on the next prop I make. Thanks again Lee3dee for taking the time to help me out.Have a good one.
  • Grey
    Oops, thanks gavku. What can I say...what a noob I am! ha.