Home Technical Talk

1024x512 textures - how?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
East polycounter lvl 14
Part of my process of trying to get better at all things 3D involves trying to fix a severe character flaw of mine: not being able to ask questions because fear of being laughed at, and thought of as a complete newb (which in some ways is true).

So here goes.

I don't quite know how to make 1024x512 (or 512x256, etc, you get the idea) texture layouts. When laying out UVs I always fill the positive 0-1 X,Y space, and that gives me a Z^2 layout. But for a 1024x512, I don't know how I should go about doing this.

Do I lay things out between the X-1 and X+1 space, and still use the Y0-Y1 space? You can call me a newb if you like, it's all part of my "therapy" wink.gif but I would also appreciate some help in regards to my question smile.gif

Replies

• cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    What program you using?

In max's Edit UVW's window, click Options, uncheck Use Custom Bitmap Size, and the texture will be whatever size you made it isntead of forcing it into a square.
  • East
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    East polycounter lvl 14
    I switch between Maya and Modo, and I have browsed through the UV section of Maya's help, but I might be too thick to grasp everything in there.

Oh, and I realised I used X and Y, when I'm supposed to use U and V :P
  • Tulkamir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tulkamir polycounter lvl 18
    The way I work in maya is I lay out my uv's in a rectancle (-1 to 1), take my uv layout screenshot, then scale them into a square. I then make my rectangle texture, which when applied maya will also squeeze into a square. Then on the top tool bar there is a button (second set of buttons from the right) which turns image aspect ratio on/off. Click it and the texture and your uv's in maya will be stretched to the correct size automatically.