Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio - Serios need of polish

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Richard Kain polycounter lvl 18
Click Here to View Portfolio Site

Here's my extremely humble portfolio site. Being a Flash animator by trade, I used that particular program to create it. Naturally, I know that isn't necessarily the best move. Traditional webcoding is generally considered better for a portfolio site. It breaks things up nicer, offers more options for displaying images, its more scalable, and its easier to edit. (databases, etc...) When I retool this puppy, taking it out of Flash will probably be job #1. I had to produce this particular portfolio under a very tight deadline, though, and this was the fastest way for me.

But now I'm looking into the possibiliy of graduate school, and I need a portfolio that will kick-ass. So I'm humbly coming to the polycount boards for suggestions. I've seen a lot of the portfolios around here, and they kick ass. If anyone can help me, its the polycount boards. Please, be brutal. I'm very open to guidance and suggestion on this.

Replies

• Squirmy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Squirmy polycounter lvl 17
    at 1024x768 I see alot of dead space around the edges. Maybe this is to help loadtimes, but its an eyesore.

I like the flatshad, wireframe, and texture modes. Thats a nice idea but the wireframe mode really shows me nothing becuase its too confuseing. I would combine the flatshade and wireframe into a flatshade with the edges highlighted, so you cant see through to the backside of the mesh. kind of like this

horney1.jpg

I dont think the flash content hurts your folio, as long as its used to display what your really advertising. Your artistic skill.
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Do you have more finished work you can put in your portfolio, as in textured models with final materials?
  • fogmann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message