Home General Discussion

Graduate School?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Richard Kain polycounter lvl 18
I'm currently looking into graduate schools, to get my Master's Degree. I'm looking for suggestions. The degree I will be looking to acquire will most likely be a Master's in Fine Arts, or a Master's of Fine Arts in Computing. I thought about pursuing a Computer Science degree, but the prerequisites are a tad steep. (two full years of Math courses) Which schools are known for having solid programs in this area? Which ones have the best out-placement and internship programs to help get graduates into their respective industries? What schools would it be best to avoid?

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Graphic Design. But my college had no courses in 3D modeling or animation. All of my experience in this field is self-taught. I would really love to get further training in this area. And going back to school for a Master's degree struck me as a good way to do it. (and possibly help my career in the process)

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    continue self taught smile.gif wont spend a dime wink.gif
  • arshlevon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arshlevon polycounter lvl 18
    hey johny, most cases you dont spend a dime on grad school anyway, you actually get paid for it. i did, you have to be a TA usually. grad school is for self exploration and research. i had a great time and i reccomend it for anyone. just read up on all the schools you can, there is tons of info out there.

i went to tulane, not really an art school, but it was in a very arty city, new orleans, and i chose it based on location. its pretty hard to get into grad school, yes they are very picky casue it costs them money for you to be there. your still going to be dirt poor tho.
  • Paul Jaquays
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Paul Jaquays polycounter lvl 18