Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Low Poly Male - WIP

mod
Offline / Send Message
Geezus mod
Generic title, I know. :] I've been posting my progression on this model in the SWAYWO thread. It's been suggested that I create my own thread for this guy since I've been updating daily I'd imagine. So here it is.
Started this guy a few days back. This is my first attempt at a full body human character. As far as humans go, I've only been modeling heads. I'm trying to think hard about deformations and getting a good mesh flow. I'm trying to stay at about 2k tri's. I'd be grateful for any C&C.

LowPolyMaleWIP04.jpg

I have a little over 450 tri's left to play with for the head.

Replies

• Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    A great start. He seems to be missing his lats though, which make it look like he has no shoulder. The lats are the main muscles which give the upper torso a triangular look.

latspread.jpg
  • Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    Another quick point before I turn in - the ankle bone is actually the end of two bones, and the one on the outside of the foot is lower down and further back.
  • tremulant
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tremulant polycounter lvl 17
    Started to do a paintover, but then just pasted a photo for u...just compare, and this will help you out a lot...make your loops define more form also.

LowPolyMaleWIP04.jpg
  • Geezus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Geezus mod
    Thanks for the tips Rick and Trem! I took what you both said and made some changes (aside from adding the penis :]). I also fixed some flow that I wasn't happy with. It seems the further I get into this, the more I fix or mess with the flow. Keep the C&C coming please, it's really great to get feedback on this. Anywho, progress:

LowPolyMaleWIP05.jpg
  • tremulant
    Options
    Offline / Send Message