Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Karate Kata animation

Sinistar
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Sinistar polycounter lvl 17
I've been working on this for a few weeks now on my spare time,

My goal was to mimic the Kata movements in the source video.

Many thanks to poopinmymouth for the use of his Naruto model.

Download directory is here:
http://www.trepid.net/sinistar/misc/wip/index.php?subdir=miscellaneous&sortby=name
"Naruto_HeianNidan_r6.avi" is the latest version I've rendered and uploaded.

Any comments and crits are welcome. smile.gif

Replies

• Oddmind
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oddmind polycounter lvl 17
    Ah thats very cool! they all look the same though.

I've been doing shaolin kung fu for almost 5 years now, boy would that be tricky.

I'll see if I can''t track down a video or two for you to have some fun with :].

Karate sprung from a certain series of techniques that served as the basis for shaolin longfist.
  • Tulkamir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tulkamir polycounter lvl 18
    Looks perdy good, although from the looks of it he's got some pretty damn weak technique. wink.gif His movements are very soft, try to make everything look hard, like he's actually hitting something with every move. (Which is how a kata should be done)
  • flow3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    flow3d polycounter lvl 18
    hehe rotoscoping ftw laugh.gif
    I think it lacks some basic fundamentals, such as anticipation and the correct application of weight.

just of the top of my head, the feet should come in contact with the ground, then have the body put its weight on them. right now, their keyframes look to be at the same frame, so I mean the feet and the weight of the body both land at the same time.

I'm going to animate something similar in a few weeks. Also, I've thought of doing something like this with the naruto model aswell, you beat me to it! smile.gif
  • Steve Schulze
    Options