Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Vagabondage of a Novice

LaSexorcisto
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
LaSexorcisto polycounter lvl 18
Greetings! I'm completely new to game modeling and in order to motivate me I've decided to make a thread about it. Hopefully this thread will be like a journal for my models and maybe get some feedback and maybe get some questions answered. I'll try to get one model done a day. Let's get into it!

Item Chest: This will be a chest that a player will run into in order to pick up items. It's suppose to look strong and hard to open.
Front:
chest13sg.jpg
Front + Top
chest27ld.jpg
Side + Back
chest30rx.jpg

Comments:
This wasn't that hard but I'm sure I didn't do something right. I think the side of the chest looks a bit weak. I wanted to add maybe a block with a large ring so it looks like handles but I wasn't sure how to do that.

Questions:
I'm experienced with doing textures for models so I would really like to UVmap this and paint it. However, I'm a complete nub on UVmapping and the best way to do it. I've checked some online sources but I'm having a real tough time with it. If anyone has any hints or tips for me that'd be awesome.

Did I model the side correctly? I think the middle section, with the 4-5 horizontal lines could of been cleaned up better.

Does it look like a "treasure chest"?

Is this the best way to show models that aren't textured? Is it hard to spot flaws?

That's it for today! grin.gif

Replies

• Zergxes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zergxes polycounter lvl 18
    Some of your questions are very app-specific, so you might want to state which app you are using. Yeah, UV mapping is a love/hate relationship for most (usually 'hate').