Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Shaolin Monk(ish) character

Mongrelman
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Mongrelman polycounter lvl 18
Hi, this is a character I'm working on for a university project. I'm going for a sort of realistic/stylish meld, which is why I've gone for more muscle definition.

I'm new to XSI so this has been good for getting me used to the hotkeys and workflow so far. I'd appreciate any comments/constructive crits smile.gif

Now if only I could find that damn fastskin shader and get it to work in XSI...

render263je.jpg
render26a5lh.jpg

Replies

• Rhinokey
    Offline / Send Message
    Rhinokey polycounter lvl 18
    looking really good so far
  • pogonip
    Offline / Send Message
    pogonip polycounter lvl 18
    That's some good anatomy and over-all it looks top notch so far keep up the good work .
  • MoP
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Looks pretty good so far.

My main crits at the moment are the upper arms are way too short, the forearms are probably a bit short too, and the muscles running diagonally down the pecs towards the armpit are positioned very weirdly, they should taper more, and end closer to the front of the armpit, at the moment they're going far too low.

Also something to consider is that if this is a Shaolin monk, is he going to be of oriental origin? If so, you need to re-work the nose area, that's a very caucasian nose there, and in general the bone structure of the head is giving a very caucasian appearance - is he meant to be oriental or asian or what?

Looks like good modelling so far apart from those points, keep it up.
  • adam
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    Thats the strongest monk I've ever seen!
  • cholden
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    To follow-up what MoP said about the lines in the pecs:
    http://blog2.fc2.com/t/tkrock/file/br.jpg
  • ElysiumGX
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18