Home Technical Talk

Let's talk about schooling

Kovac
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Kovac polycounter lvl 18
Hey guys,
I've been lurking the polycount boards since 2001, trying to gather more information than make myself look stupid. I'm finally out of High School and am really looking for advice on the next step in being a successful CG artist. I'm currently self taught, and have been doing 3D for a couple years on and off. I know I haven't been putting my true heart into this, even though I can't see myself wanting anything else. Financially, I am not the most blessed child out there. There is Financial Aid and scholarships, but my big debate is this: is it really worth the money? I took one class in maya at a local community college for dual enrollment. Unfortunatly I got an A in the class but left not learning one new thing. It seems like the only schools that are even beneficial are the high end art schools such and Gnomon and Full Sail. For me, it feels the horizon is quickly fading. All my friends are at colleges I couldn't afford, and I'm really left wondering: should I take the daring task of spending my time not at work working on art and hope to get by from there, or should I really push hard to get financial aid and get in on a college degree. I don't know how much feedback this could really get being it seems more like a rant then a request, but if you guys could just give your advice on what to do, it'd be greatly appreciated. You can see some of my work to tell what kind of footing I have at http://pixelgames.com/Kovac/ Please note however, certain things are not mine - the teeth were from SouL from a long time ago and the UV Map of the soldier was from a previous post on the forums (I was just trying to touch up the lighting). Thanks for your time guys, it's great to talk to such a phenominal group of artists.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    About those who have made it into the biz already: