Home Technical Talk

What does the future hold for Animators?

Voodoo
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Voodoo polycounter lvl 18
Hi everyone, I'm a computer animation student focusing on animation and scheduled to graduate on Nov. 23rd of this month.

I was recently reading the Warhamer 40,000 interview on the intro cinematics and the first thing that caught my eye was "motion capture preformances". The other night while watching SW Episode II I could definitely tell when animations were motion captured and when they were keyframed.

My questions is, as motion capture technology becomes better and less cost prohibitive what role do you think animators will play in creating game and movie animations? Will there still be a need for us or will our identity shift from animating to cleaning up motion capture data? Will the industry keep paying animator's salaries or instead decide to pay a one time fee for a mo-cap setup and keep a few people on to run it?

I guess the same goes for modelers and 3d scans. Eventually the technology will advance to be able to produce models that are functionally sound right off the scan. Where do you see our jobs going in 5-10 years? Do you think the industry will see a resession in the future as technology will be able to do more accuractly and quickly what we're doing now or do you think we'll see more growth in the industry?

Replies

• Downsizer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Downsizer polycounter lvl 18
    I'm guessing it still depends on budget. I was looking for information on motion capture equipment pricing for a studio I have been planning for a few years, and it's still quite expensive. You would also need to hire a person to run the equipment for some of the more complicated systems.