Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Learning to Create Characters to the Dishonored Art Style- WIP

Douthwaite_Simon
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Douthwaite_Simon polycounter lvl 2
Hi Polycount
I'm a Computer Games Design student, just finished my second year and going into my third and final year after the summer.
In the meantime, I'm learning to create characters to the art style of Dishonored 2. Here's my current WIP so far in Zbrush, before I add the hair. I've been using the image here as a reference to learn from: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/xxo3R

Any and all feedback and critiques are appreciated as it will help me learn for my Final Project. Thanks in advance :)

Replies

• NinjaSocks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NinjaSocks keyframe
    Looks like you're giving it lot of thought :) the first things that jump out at me are the lines on the side of the face, I think you should only keep the one closest to his mouth and you need to adjust it to follow the direction of the chin rather than just straight down. The lips feel like they should be slightly bigger and outward and under the bottom lip you can see that the reference has a bulged look.. Maybe you should load the reference inside zbrush via the texture palette and reduce the opacity of your model. This way you could align your model to the reference and make sure that the major forms and facial planes match to the reference better. 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    • You've missed a lot of the big forms, and with something like Dishonored's art work they're still obeying foundational anatomy of the human face.
    • Corners of the mouth should be pushed into the face, not at the same horizontal plane of the mouth
    • The ridges of the philtrum beneath the nose need to be defined.