Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Creating the USS Valkyrie Bridge (Star Trek Scifi Environment, UE4)

Hello, my name is Peyton Thomas. I am an aspiring 3D artist who lives in Austin, Texas.

In this post, I will be talking about how I constructed the bridge environment I constructed, and the techniques I used to build it. Star Trek is my favorite franchise, and it’s the reason I wanted to go into 3D art to begin with. It was only natural that I wanted to recreate a bridge environment.

I should mention that I did create this bridge once in Unity last year for one of my game art classes. That project was an entire semester’s work. However, I felt that it wasn’t up to par with my current skill set, and since it was the only environment I had under my belt, I decided that remastering it was the best way to build a fleshed out environment to get experience before branching out into other genres for more environment creation. Overall, this environment took about 3 months to complete in full.

For setup work, I took as many movie screenshots as I could from the movie Star Trek: Beyond, as well as researching any set photo I could find. I then took all of my pieces and blocked out the entire scene within 3DS Max.

If you want to look at more of the bridge, check out my Artstation post:

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/q14ry

First, I will go over the process behind the unique objects in the scene.

1. Unique Assets

I started with the more complicated pieces on the asset list, with the first one being the captain’s chair. The captain's chair was made with a standard workflow. I constructed it in 3DS Max, textured it in Substance Painter, and then exported to Unreal 4. However, I did use ZBrush to sculpt some wrinkles in the cushion for baking. This is the only time I used ZBrush in the project. The captain’s chair and the normal chairs are the only objects in the scene that use 4k textures for crisp closeups if needed.