Home Technical Talk

3D texturing for concept art purposes

Hey everyone, I'm new here. Decided to join and get some feedback and help on a subject that I've been struggling to grasp lately related to 3d texturing in general. I'm mainly a 2d artist but I've been trying to learn 3d as well to expand my skills and incorporate it more into my process. I'm interested in 3d and how it can be used in making still images or concept art. I'm not interested in creating models or characters for games at the moment though that would be cool to learn as well later on.

So my question is how is 3d texturing used in the still image or concept art creation process. How does the process differ from creating textures for games or movies. I've been doing a lot of research but most of the information out there on creating textures is geared towards creating textures for games. It seems like a complicated process that probably isn't used if I'm only interested in creating still images. Most of the tutorials I've seen also go directly into the how process without explaining what, when and why assuming I'm creating the textures for game models which isn't my goal.

Basically i would like to know if i should be bothered with learning retopology, UVing, baking and all that process. I'm guessing this is all related to creating textures for games mainly. So if all i wanted is to create high resolution models and texture them for final still images or to be used in photoshop later on, what would be the process? and which part of texturing would you do in 3d and which ones would you just do in photoshop?