Home Career & Education

Have no idea where to go with my skills.

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
jamecz polycounter lvl 3
Ok. I got a pretty good reaction to my work at school. I'm a freshman. I felt good. Here's some of my 3D models in Arnold and Maya.

and a traditional painting

I originally went in with an intent to be a concept artist but after exploring all the other realms of things like gamedev, motion graphics, environment, character, and prop art, I just have no idea where I want to go in the industry. I definitely know that in the end I want to do games and work in games, but how do I find what I like? I feel like I like everything but at the same time have an imposter syndrome where I believe I cant be good if I'm doing everything.

I'm also not sure what to work on with all my time in the summer. My school offers free Gnomon classes but there's just so much to choose from. Do I make a portfolio piece or just work on experiments? Any suggestions? Part of me just wants to try and translate my 2D style into 3D stuff.

I'm interested in hand painted textures and environments at the moment, I like a lot of the lowpoly minimalist stuff I see on sketchfab, but part of me feels that doing lowpoly stuff isn't that beneficial to my skills? and that I should be practicing hard surface and detailed work? I've modeled a van since school got out but I got bored of that real quick once the model was done.

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Easy! go with what your gut is telling you, which nine times outta ten usually a good indicator as to where one's focus might be effectively applied.
  • Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    Keep exploring, there's no need to box yourself in so early in your schooling. 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Make a game.  Or help make one.