Home Technical Talk

how high is too high of polycount

skern55
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
skern55 null
Is my model too high of polycount to be animated? Even with normal and displacement maps?

I created a model in Zbrush before I realized I want to animate it in maya, so I was not careful at all about the polycount. However, I have retopologized, and seperated the mesh into several different subtools in Zbrush, and so now the model is only at 18,000 polygons since I retopo'd it by hand, but the highest point is at 80m. I know thats really high, but the details are only crisp that high. Anyway I just finally exported the mesh subtools, as well as normals and am using renderman. I am just learning to use it since I am having issues with mental ray , but anyways the render is still pixelated and jenky. So I even added displacement maps and the problem still persists. I have been working on this project for almost 9 months on and off because I keep reaching problems , but I dont think there is a solution to this issue. I created the fine details, like small scales and veins with alphas which require the high polycount, so is the subdivision differences that is needed for the normals way too great? Like is going from in some cases 1k polys to the highest 2m too great? Or another subtool for instance is actually 40k to 45m but seems to work nicely, except for a few open holes that pop up in the IPR from renderman. Basically how can I get this high poly model to look good in maya for animation. Or is should I have sculpted these details differently so the poly count was around 10m alltogether? Any solutions? Ive also tried exporting 4k uvs and that didnt work btw. If I need to break up larger subtools to become smaller ones than I guess thats what I'll do. Anyways Ill attach photos of it posed, and how I want it to look as well as the maya issue. If someone can help me just get this into Maya so I can start animating it , that would be amazing. Sorry for the leng