Home General Discussion

Is M-16 Identical to AR-15?

Nerono
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Nerono polycounter lvl 5
Sorry if this might be the wrong forum to post this but from what I understand M-16 is the same as AR-15 except it has the option to shoot on Auto mode which AR-15 doesn't have.
I am really a novice when it comes to weapons, so I want to make sure.
Is it true? are they the same in any other way other than that? 
I want to model one and I don't know if I can use the AR-15's reference pics.
Thank you for your time.

Replies

• RaptorCWS
    Online / Send Message
    RaptorCWS polycounter lvl 11
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M16_rifle

ar-15s cant do 3 round burst either, even if the lower receiver  has a spot marked on it for it. the only parts to my knowledge that are different are parts of the bolt carrier group and parts of the trigger group. if you google  what the difference is you will probably find some articles or videos showing the difference. externally though they look the same so as long as you aren't showing the weapon broken down id say you are good.
  • Nerono
    Offline / Send Message
    Nerono polycounter lvl 5
    RaptorCWS said:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M16_rifle

ar-15s cant do 3 round burst either, even if the lower receiver  has a spot marked on it for it. the only parts to my knowledge that are different are parts of the bolt carrier group and parts of the trigger group. if you google  what the difference is you will probably find some articles or videos showing the difference. externally though they look the same so as long as you aren't showing the weapon broken down id say you are good.
    It is such a bummet as I found the most amazing ar15 blueprints. I want to model an m16a2 as accurately as possible, if you got any source of reference/blueprints, let me know! Thank you for your help.
  • Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter