Home Freelance Job Postings

Looking for a Skilled 2D Artist for a Platform Game

Hello!

I'm an indie developer looking for an experienced 2D artist who can create smooth, cartoon-style assets and animations for a platform game. The exact style choice has not been set in stone, but the aforementioned style or something similar is what I'm currently leaning towards. I do know that the style I am looking for is not pixel art, in any case.

Here are a couple examples of what I consider to be cartoon styles:

Wario Land: Shake It!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZcrTHFN9ew

Guinea Pig Parkour (WIP Indie Game)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyf7woNPfBM

ABOUT THE GAME

The game is a 2D platformer revolving around grappling hook mechanics. There have been countless games to utilize the same mechanic before, but to my knowledge, none of them have used it as extensively as I am planning to do.

The game is currently in the prototype phase with all graphical assets being placeholder programmer art. Despite this, a small gameplay clip of the prototype was received fairly well by fellow indie developers in feedback groups of Facebook.

You can see the clip here (prototype programmed by @Awkwardnaut):

https://www.facebook.com/groups/IndieGameDevs/permalink/10155063421266573/

Thanks to all the feedback I've gotten in such an early phase, I believe that this game has a lot of potential, provided that every single feature in it will be implemented properly.

THE SCOPE

The main focus will be to create a playable demo of this project, which would contain at least one full world. In short, this would include at least the following:

-Main character, 75+ frames

-3 - 5 enemy characters, 30+ frames per one enemy, so 90-150+ in total

-2 Boss characters, 45+ frames per boss, so 90+ frames in total

-All gameplay objects of a single world

-All background assets and props of a single world

-Menu assets for the main menu and the pause menu