Home Career & Education

Benefits of Traditional sculpting in film and games

White_wizard
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
White_wizard polycounter lvl 2
For character sculptors/artists, do you think traditional sculpture gives you a leg up? how often is it used? Is it a great thing to have in your portfolio? Is it more so used in films than games, if so should i gear my portfolio to films? In 25 years I would like to be like him http://ironheadstudio.com/

Thanks for your opinions

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    For every character artist portfolio that is posted on here, I'd say less than 10% have content to do with real sculptures. The ones that do are either hobbyist or actually do it as a separate job. Like making and selling toys for example.

Regardless, if you're aiming at being a 3D character artist, I wouldn't recommended it. You're not being hired to use a hammer and chisel and break down marble. You're making digital characters that only exist on a computer. The time and effort spent on traditional sculpting, can be used in learning how to sculpt in Mudbox/Zbrush instead. 
  • sacboi
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range

White_wizard wrote:

For character sculptors/artists, do you think traditional sculpture gives you a leg up? how often is it used? Is it a great thing to have in your portfolio? Is it more so used in films than games, if so should i gear my portfolio to films? In 25 years I would like to be like him http://ironheadstudio.com/

Thanks for your opinions

I find analogue sculpting skills transfer quite easily across too digital although I'd not advise including traditional examples for a 3D biased portfolio if you've thoughts of pursuing a career based upon a realistic figurative skillset; because in my opinion it's best not complicate matters when seeking maximum traction luring eyeballs online for a tilt at a potential entry level gig.