Home Technical Talk

Editing Vertex Normals in the Industry?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Geosmith polycounter lvl 6
Hello.

Currently I'm just a hobbyist planning to look for a job in 3D sometime soon. I like to be as independent as I can, so In my time in 3D rather than looking for an answer as to what's the norm or what someone *should* do in a situation, I find my own solutions that I feel have the best results. 

The one thing that I do that worries me the most is modifying vertex normals. I've been doing it for quite a while for a bunch of reasons. One reason is to improve overall smoothing of the mesh instead of using support loops or chamfers. I can remove any nasty sharp triangles and make any kind of smoothing much softer and plain for as clean a normal map as I can make. This also means I can reduce the amount of hard edges as long as the UVs allow it reducing overall vertex counts. Later down the pipeline, modified vertex normals can allow me to reduce areas of geometry for LODs without changing the normals at all like I've shared here: http://polycount.com/discussion/191056/use-vertex-normals-for-better-lods

I'm sure there's fast ways of recreating a normal map specifically for a lower LOD mesh, something CryEngine has tools for that (if I remember right), but I'm mostly a newbie in this area and my method works well for me and doesn't need any rebaking or multiple sets of normal maps.