Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Artist Portfolio Critique

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
brettmarshalltucker polycounter lvl 2
Hey, guys!

I am a visual artist with a degree in sculpture who wants to work as an environment artist for games. I currently have a pretty awesome job at an art studio in Brooklyn where I design and build sculpture out of Lego bricks. It's been the most appropriate job for me to date (with some 3D modeling and animating involved) but I would much rather be working in game art. I have been working in game art after hours for about 1 year and 8 months. Everything I know has been learned through YouTube piecemeal as well as quite a lot of experimenting on my own. I know I have a long ways to go before being considered for a big name studio so I am curious what y'all think about my efforts so far.

Here's the link to my portfolio:
http://www.artstation.com/brettmarshalltucker

Here are some examples from ArtStation. Details and breakdowns available on there!

Thanks in advance,
Brett Marshall Tucker

Replies

• CrackRockSteady
    First things first:  Post some images in this thread in addition to your portfolio link.  The first thing everyone sees is a wall of text and no artwork.  You'll get more eyes on your portfolio and probably more responses if people see your art when they open your thread.

I like the first couple environments you have, looks like some solid work!  Consider putting Dirty Dishwater in some sort of game engine or Marmoset Toolbag or some sort of realtime application.  Also, one thing that stands out about Dirty Dishwater is that the dishes aren't actually dirty, in fact they seem to be perfectly clean.  It looks strange.

I would nix Makeshift Entertainment, IMO it is not nearly as strong as the other environments.

While The Disciple is interesting I would probably get rid of any art that isn't 3d/game art related as it only detracts from the rest.