Home Career & Education

How did you react to landing your first game dev job?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
JordonBritz polycounter lvl 6
I've always been curious as to how I'll react when I get that first break into the industry, so I'm curious what it was like for you guys who currently work in the industry. Were you self taught or went to college, and how did it feel when all of your hard work finally paid off? Thanks!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Depends, first freelance or first full time job?
  • JordonBritz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Any is welcome :D
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    First freelance was weird because it was part internship, part actual contract work, emotionally speaking.  I was just glad I was working.  Helped that the Tapzen folks are really nice people, and firm handed.  I was still living in a flat near uni (which I graduated from a semester early), and found myself on campus in the evenings to finish the game we were working on for our senior thesis, The Maestros.  I happened to be Art Directing 20+ artists that year.

First fulltime job, I thanked God that the two and a half years of inconsistent financial existence would come to a temporary end.  One of the better Christmas gifts I got.  That call for an interview initially came as I tearfully was retreating south from Seattle to LA because of a botched Microsoft contract.  It was snowing and I was in a parking lot of some mountain town mall.
  • garcellano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    garcellano greentooth
    I know I had a few small game jobs before this one, but back in the summer of 2009, when I started my internship at Sony in San Diego, I thought that was my actual break. Getting the gig through my portfolio.