Home Career & Education

How to get foot in the industry?

Boyani
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Boyani vertex
Hello everyone. I will try to make this topic small as much as i can.
I am 29 years old, and i am coming from very very good paying job. But. i do not feel fulfilled, even i can afford many things in my life and have very decent life. Luckily for me or bad for me, i still don't have my own family,

I want to work for gaming industry or movie industry. I always wanted to be invoked with people who make games, and millions of people play those games. Mostly, i am interest in Environment and Character modeling. I really much want to start with Environment, since learning Anatomy its a bit more too much for me for start. 
Where i live, we don't have games studio or any thing with 3D.Can i find a remote studio that offer remote jobs, just to get experience enough for me to find  a game studio to relocate?

How do i stand with portfolio, as total beginner? I see studios want shipped title, how to get that title? Or, how can i make a portfolio, that will get attention to potential employer?

Replies

• defragger
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    defragger sublime tool
    Shipped title or equivalent experience for junior positions.

Game development is not like other industries where you simply apply for a job and learn the stuff while you go. You need a lot of experience before you can even think about applying for a job. Use your free time after your day job to get the basic knowledge and build a portfolio. After two years you should be good to go.
  • NikhilR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NikhilR polycounter
    A good portfolio certainly helps, but it also matters where you apply, as in which country/city and if there are openings.