Home Technical Talk

Having trouble with XNormal-generated normal maps. Any alternatives?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Alfax polycounter lvl 7
I'm not too experienced generating normal maps with xNormal, but I've used it a couple of times before and I've never gotten results like these. The edges on my character's armour seem really dark and imprecise, and you can see some tris in the normal map itself.

To the left you can see the original ZBrush sculpt (decimated to improve performance while quad drawing). The model in the middle is the lowpoly version made in Maya, and to the right is the same lowpoly model with the normal map I got out of xNormal. I even tried dynameshing my sculpt and smoothing it again, but the normal map was almost identical. Is there a setting I'm missing that I should be fiddling with? The rough texture on this normal map almost looks like it didn't even come from the right model.

I apologise for what may seem like a very dumb issue in advance. I wanted to try making the normal maps with ZBrush itself BUT my sculpt doesn't have any subdivision levels so I may have screwed myself over there.

(On the flipside I learned how important subdivision levels are, right? Lesson learned for this Zbrush scrub.)

Replies

• Zalek4
    Offline / Send Message
    Zalek4 polycounter lvl 5
    How are you setting up your cage in xNormal? You can either have xNormal compute one for you, also known as the "ray distance calculator" under the "tools" tab (which I do NOT recommend), or you can make a custom cage for your model (which I DO recommend). 

If your cage isn't set up right, that could be your problem.
  • poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    It doesn't look like a problem with projection.. 

Is the green channel flipped? 
  • Alfax
    Offline / Send Message
    Alfax polycounter lvl 7
    Zalek4 said: