Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student looking for critique please. Simple Bookshelf Model using Maya and Substance Painter.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Toafaloaf polycounter lvl 6
Hello. I am a self guided student looking for critique. Hoping someone can point out any obvious things I am doing wrong. I have been building a bookshelf. Modelled in Maya, textured in Substance Painter and rendered in Maya with Maya Software.        Subdiv0

This is at about 5000 tris but is built to be subdividable. Is that too many?    Subdiv1

I feel like the texture looked a lot better in Substance. The Renders appeared lighter. I am also not sure about how to properly bring the normal maps over. the appear extremely tessellated so I turn the bump down to like 0.04. Is that what I am supposed to do? 

Any Critique at all would be very helpful and appreciated. 

Replies

• wirrexx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wirrexx ngon master
    take a look at this my friend! =).
    You've got the cabinet done, so that's a good start. 
    What wood do you want to use?
    Oak, Mahogony, Bark, "fake" wood. 
    Dirt inbetween the edges, maybe the Shelf part would have spots where books, vases or something else been sitting there. 

How about chiping of some edges in mudbox, Blender or Zbrush? 

https://youtu.be/4bcmwoRFj4Q?t=21m52s

Your shelf/cabinet is flat. Textel density seems off, you can tell by how the wood fibers seems bigger in some places and smalle in other. 

Have fun and remember references is really important! 
  • Zodd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zodd polycounter lvl 11
    Hello,

So first thing is about the polycount, 5K may be too much for something that's mostly blocky and square-ish, however you said that its made for subdivision (high poly) so its no big deal since that "low poly" should be optimized either way when you are done with making high poly.