Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio advice and Feedback

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
GluFlu null
So I'm in my final year at Uni, and am working on my 3D Modelling Final Project, but I'm also working on my portfolio for after I graduate. I was wondering if I could get some feedback on what I have so far, and any advice on where to focus next. Link is provided down below.
Portfolio:  https://george3dgamedesign.artstation.com

Replies

• jose.fuentes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jose.fuentes interpolator
    Hi GluFlu

A couple of things....

First of all MODELER not Modeller, thats a big one.  If you want to focus on modeling, then clay renders are fine.  If you are going to go through the trouble of texturing and lighting, then really take the time to make it shine.  I think that your lighting is what needs to most work right now.  I would take the time to learn some basic 3 point lighting techniques.  I cant sit there and analyze you're models because all i can think of is how bad the lighting is.  Remove the substance tutorial, its great that you did it, but doing a tutorial and putting it up on your site, regardless of how good, isn't going to set you apart.  and then theres this... QUALITY OVER QUANTITY... always. 2 great pieces are way better than 10 mediocre pieces, because your portfolio will always be judged on the weakest piece.  Right now IMO your barn scene is the strongest, I would delete everything else and really work on that.  Perhaps find a studio that you like and emulate their style.  I think your city is second in terms of quality, but it really needs help on the lighting.  Don't get discouraged, we all start somewhere, keep at it.  You'll only get better with time
  • carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    Hey there