Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio advice and Feedback

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
GluFlu null
So I'm in my final year at Uni, and am working on my 3D Modelling Final Project, but I'm also working on my portfolio for after I graduate. I was wondering if I could get some feedback on what I have so far, and any advice on where to focus next. Link is provided down below.
Portfolio:  https://george3dgamedesign.artstation.com

Replies

• Elithenia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elithenia polycounter
    You might want to post pictures and not just a link if you want feedback.
    Most people on here don't have the time to click on links. 
    You might also specify if you're doing environment art or characters or props or...... :) 

You also have a higher chance to get answers if you write the questions you want answering instead of asking for advice on where to go next. You are the only one who knows where you want to go with your art. So tell us where you want to go, and people might be able to tell you how to get there :)
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    1. Spelling mistake in your job title. 3D Modeler.
    2. Tree asset is not well made. There are leaves floating in space instead of being attached to any branches. The leaves themselves also appear to be just one leaf repeated over and over. There needs to be variances in shape, size and even color.
    3. You need a better Barn reference. Bump map is excessively strong, and the lighting on it feels very diffuse. You need to create a material with a roughness that's closer to paint, and for more variation, create the underlying wood layer underneth.
    4. The ground texture for the Barn scene is just one grass tile repeated over. Look into vertex painting and texture blending to add more ground detail. The terrain itself is also flat. Where are rocks, dirt, plants that show there is life?
    5. Some of your fences are missing poles.