Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Newbie first upload - sword

Sareth93
null
Offline / Send Message
Sareth93 null
Hi,

so I'm new to 3D world and I thought why not just put in some pieces of work and ask for advice.

This is a sword I created yesterday using Maya. It's one of the first meshes I created myself so bare with me :D Before I have mostly just done tutorials and tried to follow them.

Unsmoothed:

Smoothed in viewport:

Subdivided wireframe from smooth in render:

Smoothed & Rendered with basic colors:

I have created the sword from a box, the handle (brown) from a cylinder, the knob from a sphere and the golden part of the handle I created with a bevel plus, then reconnecting verts to create quads on the planar part.

No texturing or UVing done yet.

I hope from these pictures you can see my areas of problems and give me some feedback. Also, the polycount of the unsmoothed mesh is 6016 Tris, when I smooth it it's like 96.000 Tris so guess this is way too much if this was to be imported into a game for example, tips on how to improve are welcome.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    96,000 tris is a bit much, but you can make a low poly version of the sword that's lower.

Looking solid.  Just make the low poly, UV that out, and bake the textures to get started on texturing.
  • jose.fuentes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jose.fuentes interpolator
    off to a good start, next time when showing it perhaps try some basic lighting, it will really help your images pop more
  • HellishBaroness
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HellishBaroness polycounter lvl 5
    Nice work so far. As a beginner as well I recommend working from reference. Not necessarily following tutorials, but having something to go off of helps a lot. Once you've worked on your technical skills, you can have lots of fun with design! :smile:
  • Sareth93
    Options
    Offline / Send Message