Home Career & Education

Those who got jobs in the US games/film industry, care to share your career path?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
BrianShray polycounter lvl 4
Im from a small SEA country (Malaysia) and my life goal has always been to move overseas, preferably to the US followed or Canada, a close second. I did a 3year Diploma program here then worked about 3 years as a 3D Generalist (Modelling/Shading/Lighting/Comp)

I live with my parents for the time being, so, over these years, I have literally been saving up 75-80% of my salary while i figure my next move. Currently, at age 25, i think its about time i do just that.

From what I have read, a degree can greatly improve my odds when looking for work overseas, especially for the US H1-B visa type. Thankfully, the college where i did my Diploma here is affiliated with a number of Institutions in the UK that will allow me to skip to the final year. Therefore, my next step is to secure a degree for future Visa purposes from Hertfordshire,UK (intake Sept 2018) 

At  the end of the day, nothing beats a good portfolio for getting the job offer, but when it comes to the immigration side of things, it can be very tough. Because of this, I'd really love to try to get some advice and plan an optimal route and set goals for myself.

With that said, my question is.
Has anyone got any stories/advice ?

Replies

• pior
    Online / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    If you want to go work in the US, then you should look at their official government websites where you will find all the Visa conditions and requirements.

"It's my understanding that in order to get a work visa, you need a degree"