Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need some advice for Head Modelling

cenwenki
node
Offline / Send Message
cenwenki node
Hi there. I'm new to character modelling and i feel like i hit a wall at the moment. I couldnt solve the my models under the eye / cheek problem. No matter what i do, it alway looks weird, any advice to solve it would be great.

Replies

• carvuliero
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    You have some planes that are not quite right .I have attached few images that will clarified what I am talking about but if not let me know

• cenwenki
    Offline / Send Message
    cenwenki node
    Thank you! I am checking them with your planes. Yeah, especially nose area and some lower mouth loop that goes to back of the head really bothering me. Gonna try to fix it, thank you again.
  • cenwenki
    Offline / Send Message
    cenwenki node
    Phew, i feel like i have much much clean and correct topology right ? Now i can start to neck and add some details. Still not sure about eye brow ridge part but maybe it will go more smoother when i add more edge loops and merge the other side of face ?

• Elithenia
    Offline / Send Message
    Elithenia polycounter
    I would say you still have to go back to the reference pics that @carvuliero posted and focus on making your model a bit closer to those, before you start to worry too much about where the topology goes. 
    Eyes should be at the halfway point from the top to chin as an example. 
    You also need to have more of a forehead on your model for it to look more correct. 

Compare your model to the following image and see where you can push it to be a bit closer in the proportions. (overlaying the image is a great way to see where they differ)

• carvuliero
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character