Home Career & Education

3D - I need it back in my life - Some Friendly career/portfolio advice appreciated

Twibbz
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Twibbz null

Sad events over 2 years ago our game 'Red Awakening' didn't receive the funding it needed to go fully into development and the team has to disband. I was forced into a different industry... alien to me. I just use AutoCAD like everyday and it makes me sad. I now strive to return to where i feel my heart is. Game Dev...  Creating 3D

I graduated college with high grades in Video Game Dev, I taught 3D theory for a year - developed a game for 2 years (mostly through trial and error with my team of 10)

I've been away from Game Dev & most 3D for nearly 2 years and I come back feeling like my mind is rotting from those years invested. I'd love to be like super active on here posting lots of Art - but the whole thing feels daunting now and it feels like i need to play major catch-up. 

I have no personal portfolio as such and I don't know where to start nor what it should fully include. What are employers really looking for in 3D Environment/prop artists? Are there things to look out for, whats a good start?

I'd love to get my foot back sort of half-way in the door... Preferably knock it down 

I'm proficient in the use of 3ds Max, intermediate in use of Unreal Engine & PS and only know the basics of Zbrush. I've never been great at texturing

I've just turned 25 and I worry about reaching my dream of working in the games industry.

I feel some friendly advice from some fellow artists would really give me a kick-start... hopefully this is allowed

Thank You in advanced :smile:

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range