Home Adobe Substance

Iridescence in Designer?

null
Offline / Send Message
maizzy null
Hi! I've been trying to figure out how to do this all morning, but having no luck. Trying to make like a spilled oil on asphalt kind of thing, but I can't seem to figure out how to get the spec color to actually show up. How would you put a little colored shine into a substance? 

(ignore the asphalt texture - it's a place holder. haven't actually put any work into it yet)

(Also, I'm relatively new to substance and most of my learning so far has been a lot of trial and error, so it's very likely I'm missing something too obvious for me to properly word my google searches - sorry if this is a dumb-dumb question)

Replies

• poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    The only way to get coloured specular into a metal/roughness material is to make it metallic
  • maizzy
    Offline / Send Message
    maizzy null
    Metallic helped! thanks! Here's where I'm at now in case anyone wanted to see this experiment: 

Not really sure if I want to do more or not yet; I've been looking at it too long today to know what else I'd want to do.
  • maizzy
    Offline / Send Message
    maizzy null
    Picked this up and fiddled with it some more. Much happier with the look, so I wanted to throw out an update in here because my last version looked fairly blah.