Home Career & Education

Getting a job as a graduate and staying motivated/inspired

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Terran_x null
Hey Guys,  so I am pretty new here. Usually I just look at the beautiful work others are uploading. Anyway, I just wanted to ask if anyone has any tips for getting into the industry for students/graduates. I graduated last year in Computer Graphics and found that 3D modelling is what I enjoyed the most. However, after graduating, I found my self really demotivated to start any new projects. I think one of the biggest reasons were looking at my competition and just thinking that there is no way I can compete with that. 

If there are others that were once demotivated and found there way back, I would love to know what you did and how you did it. Here is my portfolio of what I had done during university.

http://hassan55.wixsite.com/myportfolio

- Terran

Replies

• aesir
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    I lost a lot of my motivation for a solid 7 years after graduating.  I only recently got it back.  Brains are weird!
  • jStins
    Offline / Send Message
    jStins interpolator
    I suggest you start off by reading this great article by Gavin Goulden. His advice is coming from a character art perspective. I get the impression that's what you want to do based on the content of your portfolio. So read it and take it to heart, even if it means facing the difficult reality that your work isn't there yet.