Home Technical Talk

I love my photoshop brushes. How can I use them in to directly texture my meshes?

I really like using these photoshop brushes from Kyle's Megapack. http://www.kyletwebster.com/blog/2015/9/10/megapack-cheat-sheets

They're packaged as brush/tool presets in Photoshop. 

I know I can unwrap and texture the flat texture file in photoshop but I like directly painting on the 3D model. 

Is there a way to do this? I currently use Blender (I know it's not as well loved here but I'm just a hobbyist). Blender's brush system is not as robust as Photoshop's and hand replicating each of those brush presets would be a pain in the ass. 

Are there any standalone applications or plugins for blender that would allow me to convert PS tool/brush presets into brushes? Or are there any PS plugins that would allow me to hand paint my textures on a 3D model inside PS using my beloved tool/brush presets?

I tried my hand at Quixel just now, and it's very interesting but it seems to be primarily focused on the PBR and painting normal/specular maps and baking, and I'm really looking to do some handpainted texture type look. 

I also briefly looked at Photoshops "3d view" since I remember that's a feature they've been trying to implement more lately. And it turns out that you can apparently paint on the 3d model directly in photoshop now? If that's true, then why isn't photoshop for texturing more common? Why do all the videos I see showing this feature seem to be kind of crappy? Is this actually a decent way to texture 3D objects using PS brushes or is there something I'm missing? I don't have the extended version of PS right now so I can't try out the 3D features, but if it's possible for me to paint my meshes in PS using my brushes, then I'd consider buying the new CC in order to do that. I'd be curious to hear other people's thought though, on this technique or if there are alternatives I don't know about?

Replies

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message