Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Jose Vivas - FMP Review and Critique

null
Offline / Send Message
JVR3D null

Hello, I am a student at Hertfordshire University and I will be using this thread to post images of the progress of my master's final project consisting in 2 alien characters. These characters are part of a group project; you can find the group post here with more information about the group project. Please, feel free of leave comments and feedback.

I am a bit delayed on posting my progress here andI have a lot to show, I suppose it would have been better posting from the beginning so I could have used the feedback on the go but I have been very busy and I have been putting it off till now.

My first character is an Alien minion. It is going to be the more common alien found in the game it is kind of brute and it is based on melee attacks. It also has some glands that allow it to spit acid through its mouth.

This is the Concept art with different colour variations:

We decided to use the blue-purple one.

Modelling in Zbrush:

I started my modelling experimenting with methods of building volume quickly instead of starting from a sphere, in the case of the body I used instert cylinders and I tried spheres for the head then I used Dinamesh to merge all together and blend the shapes with smooth and claybuildup . I found spheres easier to use because is easier to control.

I build the torso, the head, the arms and the legs in different tools so I could work better with dinamesh, then when I had a proper proportion and shape I merged it with the rest of the body. I struggle a lot with the proportions and positioning of the jaws as I wanted that the model could open and close the mouth fitting in the face.

Once I had the general shape of the body finished I started with the rest of elements like the nails, horns, tooth, spine,…