Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Please help moving forward on project.

JhGreene
node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
JhGreene node
Hello! 
My name is Jhalyn and I'm an animator from Indianapolis. I'm working on this kick and I've noticed a lot of slow moving parts between main key poses in the reference footage. How should I go about creating those slow movements and moving forward with this project? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.

https://syncsketch.com/sketch/163750#200378

Replies

• AnthonyAnimation
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AnthonyAnimation greentooth
    Welcome! Interesting study. I may suggest uploading a separate file without the reference, it's good to see it for sure, but it's a bit distracting. Especially that white flash.  

As for the animation- With really fast moves it's a good idea to have more poses in blocking. The eye needs more information and having few keys in stepped mode makes it seem like a jumbled mess. Take a look at f16-21 for example. There is a key on every frame, but body parts are flying everywhere. There doesn't seem to be much continuity, the eye needs something to follow.

Keep in mind what you're referencing is 2d and has some smear frames which makes the fast moves slightly easier to follow. You could also be animating at a different frame rate.
  • Ichi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ichi polycounter lvl 2
    The reference looks quite bad to me, especially losing all twisting momentum after the kick - any particular reason why you're using that ref?
  • AGoodFella
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AGoodFella polycounter lvl 5
    Honestly, I would maybe avoid using that ref. I have no idea what is happening in the ref. 
  • LloydHallam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LloydHallam polycounter lvl 8