Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - I'm learning character sculpting - some critiques would be really helpful :)

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
 So I'm trying to learn character sculpting in Zbrush. I have a lot of experience in 3D but only in environment (mainly vehicle, prop,...) I have done a few character sculpting project but only in a basic level. My knowledge about human anatomy is average.
My goal is to become (or at least try to) an expert in character sculpting (mainly human), I know it a tough goal for someone who only worked on environment, but this is something I really want to do for a long time but haven't got the time to work on.
Anyway I started sculpting a little bit, and thinking that I really need some expert advises. I'm gonna post some of my WIP project as soon as possible, hope to see your opinions about it.

Cheers,

Replies

• trungnguyenc4fe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Here is the WIP, this is 4 days work, I spend about 1 - 3 hours each day. Right now only the torso have details, on the process the thing that struggle me the most is that I can't really make her "curvy", It's really hard to make out the silhouette and the flow of the muscle, obviously because I'm just starting. Can you give me any opinion on this? it would really help me. Also is there any method or exercise that you recommend?
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • trungnguyenc4fe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would suggest starting with an ecorche class - It's invaluable to have that anatomy reference in your mind as you sculpt.  That being said it looks like you are going into details too early - work the overall forms at the lowest res you can tolerate and nail them - then step up the rez and do another pass.  If you work over torso, arms, legs, and think that way you'll get a very stiff and disjointed result.