Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Animation Challenge: Respawn

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Rmunday polycounter lvl 9
So this is my first time participating in an animation challenge. I don't expect to win but what I do expect to do is focus on one project with the sole purpose of learning, participating and improving. 

Below is my very rough first blocking. I am going to really try push my poses, I will be adding some squash and stretch to the box, almost like its Spitting the character out.

Let me know what you think, I am trying to keep the idea simple to be able to do it within the deadline and within my ability.

https://syncsketch.com/sketch/160239#194710

Replies

• AnthonyAnimation
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AnthonyAnimation greentooth
    Glad to have you join! You have a solid idea. Like you said, blocking you should focus on strong poses and timing. Right now the landing seems too slow and the return to idle seems too quick. It's also never too early to watch arcs. With the poses really pay attention to the silhouette. The last pose can be more dynamic, right now the left arm is getting lost.
  • Luk0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Luk0 polycounter lvl 4
    In terms of composition, maybe you could look at changing where that box lid lands, to keep her silhouette as clean as possible. Instead of it being right behind her, maybe have it shoot off screen to the left over a few frames as she jumps out. 
  • Rmunday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the feedback, will go ahead and start pushing the timings and the poses. Will also take a look at the lid, I thought it would bea distraction but also saw it as an opportunity to add a bit more interest to the shot! Will play around, thanks.
  • Hito
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hito interpolator
    Solid start man. based on what you said so far, I think you can take it in two divergent directions.