Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] BULLET PROOF VEST (WARNING:Noob Modeler Here)

Dinoduck
null
Offline / Send Message
Dinoduck null
Hi there, I'm a noob at 3d modeling, this mesh I'm about to show you is probably going to make many of you experienced folks cry, but that's what I'm here for is so I can get some advice. I'm trying to make a 3d bullet proof vest in blender. I currently have the vest in a mirror modifier which is why it appears to be split in half... It's my first ever 3d model. I am using the base skeleton from fallout 4 as a mold basically, as I hope to eventually mod this into the game. The vest is going to be based of of joshua graham's bullet proof vest, from fallout new vegas. This is just a personal project I am doing for fun. But I'm serious about trying to get this right. Any advice to help correct my mesh would be gladly appreciated. I get that it's a bad model, I just am not sure what I should do to improve it. I want to fix my major problems now, before I move onto making it one piece.
This is my reference

Replies

• luck6
    Offline / Send Message
    luck6 polycounter lvl 10
    try keeping it simple. I see you drawing a lot of polygons without really having any use of them. Maybe you can look around on the internet for some good topology tutorials. Your poly lines should be smooth and following the overall shape of the body.
  • RustySpannerz
    Offline / Send Message
    RustySpannerz polycounter lvl 13
    Honestly, if you're trying to improve in 3D I would watch some tutorials get your head around basic modelling, and then come back to this at a later time. 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Is this for the high poly model or low poly?
  • Dinoduck
    Offline / Send Message
    Dinoduck null
    Replies (thanks)
    [spoiler]
    luck6 said: