Home Career & Education

Aspiring Environment Artist Looking for some advice

Hello Polycount! 

I'm currently studying Game Art at Staffordshire University and have just finished my first year, I have a lot of free time this summer and am really looking to up my game at creating environment art and pushing myself to be the best that I can be however, I have no Idea where to start or what Kind of projects I should be doing whether I should work on single props or full environments.

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice whether I should be looking into:  interior or exterior environments, whether I should be focusing on a style or theme, and generally the kind of things I should be looking into to up my game and try to become the best I can at what I love, and support and help / feedback would be amazing! 

thanks guys!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Join a game team, make what they need, and ship something.
  • RustySpannerz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RustySpannerz polycounter lvl 13
    Always be making something, start small and spend time looking at other artists that inspire you. Those are the tips I wish I paid attention to when I started out. 

And yeah, if you can get together with some classmates to do some projects go for it! 
  • Zalonio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zalonio null
    Join a game team, make what they need, and ship something.
    How do you even start finding opportunities (i.e. game teams) like these? I mean, if I've just been studying entirely on my own without outside connections, how do I find and join a spot in a team where I could make real projects to work my passion towards? 
    Eg. Should one be asking for available teams in online threads? Or maybe emailing other game teams? 
  • hmm_rock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hmm_rock polycounter lvl 10