Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first material in Substance Designer & Complete breakdown [Warning: Image & Text Heavy]

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Alkarath polycounter lvl 6
First of, if you want to see this post minus all the text, node screenshots and with marmoset viewer for the 3d model you can click here to visit my post on ArtStation.

[Introduction]

Hello my name is Luc Zeegers,
I am a hobbyist 3d designer & texture artist (I mean i just started but due to a lack of a better terms i'll just use some fancy titles to sound intresting)
I started about one and a half year ago with 3d modelling after having discovered mods, and am completely "self taught" (Watching a bunch of tutorials online). And recently i decided to start working on my texturing skills.

[Introduction idea & reason, Warning: Alot of text]
I bought substance designer & painter a little while ago but never got around to using it because i was working on a 3d model, then however i saw the MAT contest come around and figured i'd give it ago. I starting off with a concept of turning him into a diver but after checking the contest forums i saw that i was not very original, so i started browsing the lovely internet for some inspiration and found a photo of an absolutely magnificent stained glass window in chateau clochard.
So i started to watch some tutorials on substance designer to get the basic concept of what the strange block-like nodes did and jumped right in. Altho i did not finish the window on time to use it for the contest, then again i joined the contest more as an excuse to start actually learning the program instead of procastinating till the end of times.
I learned alot from this little project and absolutely enjoyed working on it, Altho i probably should have gone with a slightly simpler idea to start with to save myself some headaches.

[Actually Important]