Home Technical Talk

Zbrush 'Delete Hidden' altering my sculpt.

vertex
Offline / Send Message
PinkZebra vertex
Hi guys,

So I'm currently studying a course in 3D design, and am doing some experimenting with Zremesher right now.
In order to do this, I'm cutting the head off my dinosaur model and will progress from there.
However, I'm finding that whenever I 'delete hidden', it's altering my mesh quite drastically, and all the detail is gone.

I have searched for some answers online such as masking the head before deleting the hidden parts, which gives me a different result, but it's incredibly messy and not what I had initially.
I have baked the layers down and I have gone down to subdivision level 1. Is there anything I'm missing here?

Will include a couple of images of the errors I'm getting.
I'm also a newbie to Zbrush, so if possible, so I will appreciate a detailed explanation if possible :) 

Cheers!

'Delete hidden' and returned to the highest subdivision level.

The same process, but with the head masked out.

Replies

• Sunray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sunray polycounter lvl 7
    No idea try checking mesh and fixing mesh if that doesn't work feel free to upload the tool so I can have a look at it.
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Deleting hidden generally works well. As long as you freeze the mesh, then hide the parts you want to delete then hit delete hidden, then hit the freeze mesh button to unfreeze. You do this if you want to delete parts but hold the subDs. The only thing you threw into the mix was collapsing layers fist. Maybe something went hinky with that part of your process.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    @kanga you don't have to freeze the mesh to delete hidden. You just need to be on subdiv lvl 1. :)

Agreed on the layers. The whole layers system is badly in need of an overhaul. It is bugridden and clunky.
  • kanga