Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Some practice on the Star Citizen Workflow

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Menchen polycounter lvl 3
Disclaimer: I'm a noob 3D hobbyist, so don't be surprised if the results are not good at all :D .

I want to focus on hard surface game asset modelling as well as I love Sci-fi designs, so when I discovered the Star Citizen workflow I had to give it a try. I modelled it in blender, used YAVNE for face weighted normals, hardops for the bevels (for the fwvn), Substance designer for materials, and Unreal Engine for rendering.

The first exercise was to recreate one of the environments featured in the movie Avatar; this concept is by ben procter

And, this is the result:

Second exercise, the starfarer airlock, by the god Matthew Trevelyan:

And this is the POS I managed to spit, I'm actually furious:

In the first one, I followed an "standard" approach for the decals: placed them in hovering meshes and relied on unreal's deferred decal materials; however, they seem to be broken in 4.15 and didn't even work; that's why panel lines appear completely black, and bolts appear completely, flat, white.

In the second one, due to Unreal's decals not supporting POM or metallic map in the decals (really? not even metallic) I wanted to use a 2UV approach for the decal: it's all in one mesh, no floating geometry, and meshes have two UV maps, one for the base mesh and the other for the decal placement, the shader then blends decals on top of the base material.

Due to UV constraints and that kind of stuff, it ended up looking like s***; Im furious in the sense that my most recent work looks way worse than my first attempt. Materials looked pretty good on substance designer, but I think the 2UV approach messed everything up and made everything look very plain. Not to mention what a pain in the ass is to work with a mesh in which you need to have a quad for every decal you want to put inside the mesh topology itself.