Home Career & Education

Getting artists work and interviews on a small blog, likely?

I’ve been a lurker on the site for a while and thought this would be an ideal time to post.

I’m setting up a blog that’s going to focus on mainly concept art and illustration. So we’re looking at review of books, interviews, possibly art supplies etc.

My question really is with interviews and getting artists work featured. I’ve got no experience in concept art or illustration and really that field of work (I'm a web and graphic designer). Do you think this would put off artists having their work featured on my site or maybe being interviewed?

I’ll be doing the site either way as I collect art of books and would love to share this passion with like-minded people. If I could help, up and coming artists get exposure in the long run that would be even better.

Just after some constructive views really.

Thanks

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    I would say step 1 is to actually get started and start producing the blog and content. People will be much more inclined to hop on board and contribute if you already have a baseline of content for people to dive into and not just an empty site.

step 2 would be to consistently put out high quality content and start building an audience, the larger an audience you have, the more access to high level people in the concept art/illustration industry you will get. The chances of a blog that gets 20 visitors a month getting some of craig mullins time for an interview is pretty slim, however a thriving blog with hundreds of pages of awesome content, an large email list and facebook group with lots of active, engaged fans is much more likely because the value exchange is starting to be on a more even playing field.