Home Career & Education

I am a recent game art grad in desperate need of some career advice

Hello everyone,
I am new to polycount, so I figured I would ask for some help. I am a recent graduate of Full Sail University and have my A.S. in Game Art. I am working towards my B.S. in Game Art. I have been unemployed for a long time since graduation. I can't stand the thought of just giving up on trying to work in the game industry and just accepting some dead end job. I have tried applying for entry level jobs like QA testing, Customer service, Environment Art, etc. I just feel like I'm not good enough, at least not yet, to be any sort of 3D artist. I am trying to push through into QA, but I have had no luck. I have gotten to the point where I am beginning to resent  3D modeling, art school, and myself. I really need some advice. Pursuing my degree and career in games has cost me several apartments and jobs, I absolutely hate having to depend on people for my own needs. I just want to know what I need to do to get my foot into the door. I hate feeling completely helpless like I'm trying to get into a building(game industry) with no doors or windows. 

Here's a link to my Portfolio. I have a lot of work that I have taken down and I want to put some more up. I just need some advice on my work. 

http://www.artstation.com/search?q=Austin%20France&sorting=recent

Replies

• Joebewon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joebewon polycounter lvl 12
    Hey Austin,  

I think a lot of people fresh out of college deal with the struggle you're dealing with.  I think the biggest thing I can recommend is to focus on what you really want to be working on.  If you want to do 3D Environment/Prop art, you shouldn't be spending your time applying to QA jobs.  Focus on the things you want to make and build your portfolio around it.