Home Adobe Substance

Can't get my bake properly

Hey guys!

I'm trying to get a hang of normal baking & Substance Painter. I understand most of the fundamentals I however can't seem to get them to give a 100% result in my own work.

Low poly:
-All smooth groups set to 1
-All normals normalized

High poly:

The errors:

My baker settings:

It seems like the top portion of the object which is a separate UV island is being projected flat instead of normalized. Does anybody know how to fix this?

Replies

• VickiVampiress
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VickiVampiress polycounter lvl 3
    Take anything I say with a grain of salt since I'm a beginner as well, but I had this kind of problem with one of my own models as well. I had waviness and projection errors along the edges of my model.
    For me what turned out to be the problem was the fact that the high poly model was too dense at the edges.
    I believe it's because there wasn't enough space for the normal map data on the spaces between the edges at the bevels.
    All the edges were so closely together that they caused these artifacts.

I'm not sure if that's what going on with your model, but your high poly looks pretty dense! Have you considered using your modeling suite's equivalent of Maya's Crease tool, rather than inserting a ton of edge and support loops? Just a suggestion that might be worth trying, who knows.
  • NoRank
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NoRank polycounter lvl 3
    Did you try to bake with the smoothing groups not set to 1? 
    Yet your uvs don't look correct to me as well, you have 3 pieces in your uvs while your mesh have at least 10 hard edges. And the resolution you're giving it and the resolution you're baking it are not helping too.

I don't think it has anything to do with the hp mesh being too dense. Still I don't know how you did actually export things so I can't say it's impossible for your problem to be something else.
  • TheCloudCreator
    Options