Home Unity

iOS texture compression on unity

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Monteiro polycounter lvl 7
This may be kinda simple but i'm having some trouble here
I'm building for a large range of devices (starting with a iPhone 6 with A8) to most recent devices. And the last time i've made a build to iOS was like.. 2013, and i used ETC2 to compress my textures, wich don't exist anymore on unity.

Now i'm making a simple VR, with no interactions, just a camera travel with a few animations.
My main concern is about the size and performance to achiev the framerate i need and get rid of some ghosting.
already got rid of all the lighting information i could (using a single light source on each scene, and baking as much info as i can) and all the geometry i could dump (i don't know what would be a reasonable limit for geometry here but i barely reach 15k and i oclude the scene).
And now i need to know:

how do i compress my textures... i mean... i'm no expert, and i'm doing what i can to get this thing done...
i have PVRTC wich seems to me ugly as hell but better on performance, and ASTC wich seem a little better, but makes the textures twice the size...
also, i don't know if i leave normal maps with alphas (do they need the alpha chanel?).

please someone help me here...

Replies

• cptSwing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cptSwing polycounter lvl 11
    ASTC is supported since they released the A8 architecture, so you should probably give that a shot first, bigger size or not. It also helps to manually set compression of PVRTC textures in Unity to "Best", this doesn't affect resulting texture size. After baking your final lightmaps, do this for the lightmap textures as well (..setting gets wiped with each new bake, though - sigh).

You could probably bang in some more tris as well, on Samsung Gear we've ran VR apps with ~90k tris quite successfully. But yeah - as few RT lights as possible.
  • RyanB
    Options
    Offline / Send Message