Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Need critique] Game-PBR Rifle, FG-42.

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
AidanV null
Hi, I've finished this one a little while back but haven't really been able to get proper critique on it from anyone. I'm pretty new to these forums and am really hoping to finaly find a place with active feedback! Seeing how many talented people are posting here I'd say this is the right place.

So this is my game-ready PBR rifle. It's my first time modeling a gun, second time doing a PBR prop and first time using substance painter instead of photoshop altough I used it in a very similar way. I haven't used any presets, smart materials or masks and such.

I think I did a good job of keeping it low-poly at 7251 polycount, maybe even went a bit too low in places?
Mainly looking for feedback on materials as I feel like there's some issues with it but I can't quite pinpoint it. Texture resolution is 1x4K everything included.

Lots more HQ images and 3D viewers on my ARTSTATION (is it ok for me to link to my artstation?)

Any replies are very much appreciated! Thanks!

EDIT:
As CrackRockSteady suggested I've added a reference image. Reference wasn't too great as most of the images found online are of reproductions that were often not very accurate. But I did find THIS youtube video of an auction that was super helpful. As well as this image which seemed to be an original to my untrained eye.

Replies

• CrackRockSteady
    It'll help people critique your work if you can post some reference images that you were working from when making this.